|
*sound of crickets chirping*
h/t and h/t
Before the campaign even began, a controversial web site was created:
http://www.sameoldsaskparty.ca
Yesterday, the Sask Party retaliated with http://www.calvertdelivers.com
We may as well tell you right now, this is going to get GEEKY. Please find the nearest nerd and keep him close, you may need one. Click the image to be shown a larger size image in a separate window (for added detail).
Take a good close look at the Same Old Sask Party web site.

the Same Old Sask Party web site advises you to to keep a sharp eye out for that nasty wolf in sheep's clothing. Look real close, just like Lorne wants you to look at the Sask Party. See anything?
No?
Let's keep looking.
In the image below, we come to the 'money shot' statement, 'Say NO to the Sask Party Hidden agenda.

Seen any wolves in sheep's clothing yet?
Well, they are hiding in places you would never expect them to be, and in places only a few people would know where to look.
You might want to grab your geek now.
In Internet Explorer, go to 'View', then 'Source'. In Firefox press 'CTRL'+'U'. You will see a bunch of what Geeks call 'Code'. In this code, there is not only ONE, but TWO wolves in Sheep's clothing.
We found that the Same Old Sask Party web site runs on a content management system called CMSimple from http://www.cmsimple.dk
We also found that the template 'Greenshades' was used in the building of this web site.
We did some research and found what 'Greenshades' looked like before it became all dipped up in Sheep and Wolves. We found a screen shot below:

'Greenshades came from a web site called DotcomWebDesign.com. We visited this web site and found the following license terms:
'Template copyright violation
License terms for the template are here: http://www.dotcomwebdesign.com/?Purchase-A-Licence
1. General Use - FREE Download and use our website templates for free of any costs, however you must not remove the links to CMSimple.dk & DotcomWebDesign.com.
We offer these templates as instant downloads in good faith and trust that you will not remove our links without purchasing the licenses in the options below.
WARNING: Removing the "powered by cmsimple" and or "dotcomwebdesign" - links without purchasing the required licences, is a violation of the licence. This also applies testing purposes.
Violating the licence may result in a complaint without any prior warning to the internet service providers hosting the illegal use of this software.
Violating the licence may result in a claim for compensation not less than $US 200- for a commercial licence and claims handling.
Please be aware that all cmsimple installations are monitored via cmsimple.dk
So, we went back to www.sameoldsaskparty.ca and we read all the source code for the page, and we found this "href="" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" _fcksavedurl="">" target="_blank" title="Design By Dotcomwebdesign.com" alt="Design By Dotcomwebdesign.com"" ....

...and there is a hidden link in the web site where illustrated in the picture above. Go to www.sameoldsaskparty.ca and try to find it yourself. If you find one, you may find...
This was rather curious, so we visited the Content Management Web Site and found licensing terms there.
'CMSimple is free to use, but only if a link to cmsimple.dk is kept visible in the template for the site. If you want to remove or hide the link to cmsimple.dk from your pages, you must purchase a commercial licence for the site.'
Peter even states in his License FAQ : 'You may not change or delete the copyright notice in the comment of the files, but please add the information, that the site is licensed by you or your company.'
No such statement exists in the www.sameoldsaskparty.ca source code.
We did find this statement: href="http://www.cmsimple.dk" target="_blank" title="Powered By CMSimple.dk" alt="Powered By CMSimple.dk"
and when we visit the page, we find a hidden hyper link (see image below).

We find TWO hidden live links on the SameOldSaskParty web site, BOTH of which violate the license agreement of the template and software developer.
Have we found a wolf or two in sheep's clothing?
Let's CHECK!
The software developer has an online license check on his web site here.
We type in the domain name SameOldSaskParty.ca........

and we receive a result .......

We emailed the developer of the template over in Australia to see if he had a record of a paid license for http://www.sameoldsaskparty.ca and we received the following answer...
Oh, it seems that the sameoldsaskparty web site might have a licensing issue! Soon after, we receive another follow up email from the template developer stating:
I guess either someone will be producing a receipt, or making those live links visible to conform to the licensing agreement. We will keep you updated as the story develops.
UPDATE: As of 12:30 am C.S.T., the SameOldSaskParty web site has been updated. Suddenly, credit where credit due is NOW being given.
Rather raise the questions:
1) Why have the NDP knowingly been using unlicensed software and design for months? 2) Will Lorne Calvert publicly acknowledge and apologize for using unlicensed software?
|